View Full Version : Debug mode

02-06-2010, 10:11 PM
Well im tired of these little ungraitfull brats complaining about stupid little stuff like they do every single Sonic game, so I thought I might make a subject that acually matters.
So Debug mode
Yea or Nay

02-06-2010, 10:12 PM
yea *filler*

02-06-2010, 10:18 PM
I actually said something about that here or at the SSMB...I think it would be fun and enjoyable and It would add to the classic feel of the game IMO. What classic Sonic game can you NOT easily access the debug mode or stage select menu?

02-06-2010, 10:46 PM
Hell yeah!

The Debug Mode is part of the classic series

Xtreme Starfox
02-06-2010, 10:54 PM
I see no downside to Debug mode.

So 100 times yes!

02-07-2010, 12:39 AM
debug mode was technically not supposed to even be in those games

they just threw those in as easter eggs

02-07-2010, 12:43 AM
There will most likely be one every Classic Sonic the Hedgehog game since Sonic the Hedgehog for the Genesis/Mega Drive has had one and this game should have too.I see them making one for it and it getting discovered within 1 day after its release on all 3 major consoles.

02-07-2010, 12:46 AM
you all continually forget that the sonic advance series and rush were in 2d and thus can be considered classic sonic games too

02-07-2010, 12:48 AM
I did not forget i excluded them for the reason that even tho they have said classic feel they are not linked to the original Sonic games for the Genesis/Mega Drive.

02-07-2010, 01:25 AM
Why not go all the way and give us a level editor?

02-07-2010, 01:26 AM
I think it would be interesting to insert a debug mode, but I question the feasibility of the idea. Is it possible to do that on these new engines? Especially with 3D rendered objects. If it's all sprites, this might be easier.

I'm not up on the technical aspect, however, so I could be way off base. Would they have to create this mode from scratch, separate from the game? Or could they simply code it in?

02-07-2010, 01:42 AM
as much as i liked debug, they wont do it for achievement reasons OR they could put an option to turn on debug and disable achievements!

02-07-2010, 02:36 AM


02-07-2010, 04:49 AM
Heh, why not? Debug mode kicked *** in Sonic 1-3.

02-07-2010, 02:11 PM
Heh, why not? Debug mode kicked *** in Sonic 1-3.

Also gives a good way to be super sonic in regular zones

02-07-2010, 02:33 PM
While it would be a nice nod, there really isn't much of a practical use for debug modes to be in games these days.
EDIT:for the developers themselves, I mean

Rebecca Hedgehog
02-07-2010, 02:38 PM
A DeBug mode would be very fun, indeed! Yes, it has no real use, other than zooming around stages as a ring *or whatever else you want in the stage* but it was fun regardless and you had no time limit because it was all messed up. That, my friend. Is pure fun.

So, if they decide to throw in another DeBug mode for fun *or as an Easter Egg as someone else stated*, I for sure wouldn't mind :D