Thread: Localization incompetence?

Default Localization incompetence?

I know we should be happy we are getting the games at all, but I'm worried that this series continues to be mismanaged by Sega of America/EU. What is taking so long? I mean there is no doubt that Persona 5 was hurt sales-wise because the localization took a year. I don't want the same thing to happen to Yakuza.

HOW is it possible that games get multiple subtitles in different languages without taking so much time?? A lot of Japanese games have multiple language settings not just English and it takes less time. How is it possible that since Yakuza 6 has been announced to be TRANSLATED Sega of Japan is releasing 3 games?? That makes no sense to me.

Now I'm not an expert but one thing for sure is WHATEVER THEY ARE DOING, ITS NOT AN EFFICIENT WAY OF TRANSLATING THE GAMES. Your thoughts?

At this point, I think it's more about spacing the releases than the localisation itself taking time. Between Y0, Kiwami and Y6, that's three games in the span of just over a year. That's already a lot of games in a relatively short time span, cramming in more would risk over-saturating the market and create series fatigue.

Not that I personally would mind, the more Yakuza the better.

There is still a risk that it will hurt the games on the long run, same as what happened in the past two generations. It's really the same mistake: games being released after the console's life cycle and being dated and overshadowed by the newer console and games.

Marketing efforts have improved, the older team seemed clueless about the product they're promoting (Yakuza 3 and 4). They are doing more things in terms of marketing but there's a serious lack of communication it seems. There's this fan art contest that I think with a good PR/Marketing team most websites would be talking about. There's a whole interactive comic book that nobody is talking about either.